Global Warming

I am a child of the 60’s not the 50’s, but I found myself immersed in the Beat Generation of Writer’s during the 80’s. I loved Jack Kerouac and Allen Ginsberg and read everything I could find about them and their work.

Recently I received a prompt for writing like the Beat Generation.  So, I tried a poem, Allen Ginsberg style and came up with this little piece that I would like to share.  Feel free to comment, criticize, and/or share some Beat! 🙂

Global Warming, by D. B. Mauldin

Earth as we know it is changing Volcanoes spewing Rain flooding

Tornadoes twirling bringing destruction yes bringing destruction

Lightning flashes Snow falling Freezing temperatures Ice melts

Ocean trashing Fish dying Animals dying Women getting liposuction

Lakes and Rivers turning inside out vomiting up its trash and treasures

Wars and wars violence all over the Earth some public some personal

Earthquakes upon earthquakes more destruction more dying

And all the while Earth keeps turning and people load up with arsenal

Will we ever learn will we ever care will we ever understand

Creator put us here to take care of the land animals each other

We are to live in joy and love and love and love help and care

Show empathy show sympathy not abuse then run for cover

We became a society of give me give me take this take that

I want I want We have denied and destroyed our very life

Never understanding the part we played the things we destroyed

We dined we danced like there was no tomorrow and ended in strife

We have no one to blame but ourselves we have left everything hanging

First procrastinating then denying then opening our eyes our minds

Our hearts but is it too late Earth as we know it is changing changing

As we keep fracking drilling killing tighter and tighter our yoke binds.

Leave a Reply

